Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Poker pearl #27

Above is a scan of Card Player magazine, Aug. 12, 2009, Casino Edition.

Steve Zolotow is a two-time bracelet winner. In his column in this issue, he had several complaints about the Main Event of the WSOP. Here's one of them:

I arrived at a table after the dinner
break, and found myself seated to the
left of a very sweet lady who was
totally inexperienced. On several
occasions, she called a preflop raise,
and then, when it was checked to her,
she folded. It is hard to believe that
there are players in the WSOP who don't
know that they can take a free card.
Early in the day, she had played a pot
against an aggressive opponent. The
board was J-10-10-3-2, and her opponent
fired out a large bet with jacks full
of 10s. She, however, had pocket 10s
for quads. Evidently she didn't
realize that quad 10s was the nuts,
and just called on the river.
She was given a one-round penalty
for "soft play." Moron is too kind
a description for the floorman who
made that ruling.

[Zolotow is also a bridge player. I interviewed him in July of 2008, and you can see what I wrote and photo I took if you click here.

Zolotow is a funny guy. He is part-owner of some bars in New York City. He asked me if I frequently get to NY. I said not really. He said: "Good! The drinks are on the house." I also read somewhere that he says his goal is to have a mid-life crisis at age 75. I'm sure he stole that from somewhere, but still funny.]


  1. Not being a poker player, I had not realised that you could be penalised for incompetence.

    Thank goodness they don't do that at the bridge table!

  2. Morons are everywhere! But I thought a poker table would be off-limits!

  3. This woman was in the main event? A $10k event?? She (or someone) paid ten grand and she didn't even know how to play? Wow, that's insane!

  4. Its amazing that someone would spend 10 grand and not know that you can get a free card. Having said that the official that made her sit out a round needs to never be an official again.

  5. i agree with the previous blogger

  6. The rule was started to guard against collusion at big tournaments. Basically, you're not allowed to check the stone nuts if you're last to act. It makes sense to me and, like all rules, should be enforced without bias. Even in this case where collusion is obviously not the case.